Blogging

After the stresses and commitments at university, I am finally free to launch this blog! I am so excited to spend the summer writing about books and literature and meeting other blogger and readers before I starting my masters degree in publishing.

I created a book blog on tumblr a number of yearScreen Shot 2016-06-04 at 19.38.46s ago so that I could become a part of the
reading community and have since made some wonderful friends and read a bunch of books I might not have heard of without the recommendations of fellow booklrs. Now, I have decided to start a blog here on WordPress and intend to post an original article once a week.

Here are a few facts about me:

  1. My name is Lauren and I live in England
  2. I will be graduating from the University of Huddersfield this summer. The last three years studying music has been amazing, here is a picture of our university choir and orchestra performing Mozart’s Requiem in 2013:tumblr_inline_myn30x5gu41rjce6r
  3. I play piano and attempt to sing, but I prefer musicology over performance
  4. Books have taken over my home
  5. I am an aspiring writer and I have an amazing writing buddy called Ebie, here we are editing the first drafts of our novels:tumblr_nkvawqh27h1unmlz8o1_500
  6. My star sign is Cancer
  7. Dystopian/Post-apocalyptic genres are my favourite
  8. I am currently volunteering for Derby Book Festival and was also a steward at the Huddersfield Literary Festival earlier this yearunspecified.jpeg
  9. The publishing industry fascinates me and I will be a guinea pig on the new publishing masters degree at Derby University in September
  10. My favourite books are Carrie by Stephen King, Across the Universe trilogy by Beth Revis, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, and I am really enjoying The 100 by Kass Morgan at the moment!

So, that’s about it. Thank you for reading my first post!

– L

 

 

9 thoughts on “Blogging

Leave a Reply

