Faith and Feminism: Jesus Feminist

I often find myself peering through the windows of charity shops to see if they have a book section. They usually do, and I usually go in. The books displayed on the shelves are in various conditions, some heavily used and others seemingly brand new.

During one of my ventures, I found Jesus Feminist: God’s Radical Notion That Women Are People Too by Sarah Bessey. The tagline drew me in and I proceeded to purchase the book, not completely sure what I was expecting.

I subscribe to the Christian faith, though I was raised in an atheist household and have struggled with church attendance. I often shy away when difficult questions are posed to me, never a good debater.

Jesus Feminist opened my eyes and educated me on God’s true intention for equality. The purpose of the book isn’t to display ways in which Jesus himself was a feminist, but instead how the Bible shows development towards equality by putting the verses into historical context and through personal anecdotes.

A prominent quote which resonated within me was on page 26: “God has a global dream for his daughters and his sons, and it is bigger than our narrow interpretations or small box constructions of ‘biblical manhood and womenhood’ or feminism; it’s bigger than our frozen-in-time arguments or cultural biases, bigger than socioeconomics (or the lack thereof), bigger than marital status, bigger than our place, bigger than all of us – bigger than any one of us.”

This book was certainly an interesting read and I recommend it to anyone who is interested in the relationship between Christianity and feminism.

Have you read any books about faith and feminism?

2 thoughts on “Faith and Feminism: Jesus Feminist

  1. Ceillie Simkiss says:

    I haven’t read any, because I tend to find really narrow views of feminism from the authors when I do try, but I’ve wanted to read “A Year of Biblical Womanhood” by Rachel Held Evans ever since it came out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

