Confessions

1. I have never read the Harry Potter books

Okay, okay, calm down. I was in primary school when the films started coming out and all I knew about them was Hermione’s line ‘…or worse expelled’ because every kid around me kept repeating it. I did try to read the Philosopher’s Stone but I don’t think I finished chapter one. I was much more for Cathy Cassidy, Jacqueline Wilson, Meg Cabot, and other ‘girly’ realistic books rather than the fantasy world of witches and wizards.

I am now 21 and I have watched and enjoyed all of the HP films, however, I have never truly felt the urge to read the books. A year or so ago, my friend started reading them for the first time and I almost caught the bug but I never followed through. They don’t appeal to me, and at times it has made me feel like an outcast within the book community because everyone seems to have grown up reading them (which is great but there are other great series’ out there too).

2. I failed the Rory Gilmore Book Challenge

Being a massive fan of the Gilmore Girls, I was so excited when I found a list of the books Rory read on the show and that it was indeed a ‘challenge’ to read them all. I tried. I failed.

My poor grandma traipsed around car boots with the list trying to find all of the books (she loves car boots so I don’t feel too bad), and I really did try in the beginning. I was half way through my first year at university and decided to video my experience reading Rory’s book, so for the month of February 2014 I read a lot and vlogged a lot and I was so motivated. Then I hit the brick wall which was The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. After suffering through half of it, I put it down and picked up another, put that down and then picked another… I just couldn’t get through them and eventually came to the realisation that those books were not ones I would enjoy and I was, in my opinion, wasting my time. Alas, I failed the challenge.

Screen Shot 2016-07-02 at 22.20.15

3. I overestimate my reading ability every single year

If you are a reader, you have most likely heard of Goodreads and their annual reading challenge. Every year, I put in an amount of books I hope to read through the 12 months and no matter how low that number is I still never meet it. Truth is, I am an extremely slow reader and it can take me 1-4 weeks to read just one book. I get this odd anxious feeling if I spend too much time reading in one day as if I’m not being productive enough, so I usually only read a chapter or two before bed.

This year I decided on the number 23. Reading 23 books in 12 months can’t be that hard, right? Well, it is currently July and I am 8 books behind. Despite the disappointment of being unable to keep up, I refuse to let my slowness put me down. I still enjoy reading, even if it takes me a while.

 

What are your bookish confessions?

Leave a Reply

