I Graduated! So, what’s next?

On the 12th July 2016, I put on the cap and gown and walked across the stage in St Paul’s Hall to shake hands with some fellas and smile for my family in the audience. All of the nights in the library, the rewrites and edits, the research and analysis… I am proud to say I earned a first class degree in Bachelor of Music (Hons). The day was incredible. First, I was awarded the Jacob’s Prize (Musicologist), then I met with my friends and classmates for our graduation ceremony in the beautiful hall we had performed in many times before. We celebrated with buck’s fizz and wine and a million photographs. I didn’t want to return my cap and gown at the end of the day!

During my three years at uni, I had weirdly enjoyed improvisation, obsessed over film music, stressed over my writing style, and performed at the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival and University Choir concerts. In my final (and favourite) year, I wrote a film musicology dissertation about the classic technique and unconventional approaches to music in Buffy and volunteered for new things – HCMF, Hud Literature Festival, Holocaust Memorial Day, and Derby Book Festival – and enjoyed every moment.

I have made amazing friends and created unforgettable memories, and now I am a graduate.

So, what’s next?

In September, I will be a student on the brand new Masters in Publishing degree at Derby University. It’ll be a new area for me, but I am determined to succeed and one day publish music journals. I already have an idea for a project I want to do alongside the degree so I can apply all of the things I learn as I go. I am so excited and can’t wait to get stuck in!

5 thoughts on “I Graduated! So, what’s next?

  1. musica11y says:

    Hi you sound like an amazing human. I’ll be graduating next year and i am so nervous so honestly it is comforting to know someone else feels the same way. life will take you weird places though; you’ll always end up where you belong

    Like

    • lauren elia says:

      I think everyone is secretly scared of what comes after education. It’s a safety blanket – one that I am still warmly wrapped up in. I wish you the best with everything and you are right, we will always end up where we belong.

      Like

Leave a Reply

