Review | If I Stay by Gayle Forman

“The last thing Mia remembers is the music.”

As a music student, how can I resist a book that’s blurb begins like that?

If I Stay is about a teen cellist, Mia, who is critically ill after being in a horrific car accident and she wakes to find she’s having an out-of-body experience. She watches the doctors and nurses treating her and sees her friends and family praying that she’ll be okay. But Mia has a decision to make – to stay or to go.

I really enjoyed this book, the writing was addictive and the pacing wasn’t as slow as I’d feared. With the story spanning 24 hours, I wasn’t sure what I’d think but the memories broke up the wait for a decision. I didn’t connect with Mia much, but I was really fond of her family and friends. To me it almost felt like the story wasn’t about her, she was just the element tying everything together, instead I felt more for the ones she loves and whether they could let her go or pray for her to stay. Even a couple of pages before the end, I wasn’t sure whether Mia would choose to stay or not.

I am satisfied with how If I Stay ended and left the book wondering what I would decide.

Rating: 3 Stars

One thought on “Review | If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Leave a Reply

