Review | Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter

Alice in Zombieland is the first book in the White Rabbit Chronicles by Gena Showalter, published by Harlequin Teen in 2012.

The story follows teenager Alice avenge her family after their death in the prologue (yay for prologues!) as she teams up with a bad boy at school to fight the zombies.

Showalter has written a unique take on zombies, portraying them as spiritual entities rather than physical beings, which was refreshing and intriguing. Throughout the book there was always more and more to learn about the zombies, slayers, special abilities, and the enemy organisation. The plot developed and deepened at an exciting rate, and unexpected twists and turns had you holding your breath and tears threatening to drop.

“I knew refusing to worry wouldn’t save me from hardship, but it would save me from ruining the moment. I’d take each day as it came, and deal with whatever obstacles were thrown into my path…”

Misleading

Alice in Zombieland is not a retelling of Alice in Wonderland. It isn’t set in Wonderland and the character Alice is not the same as from the original story, but rather a new character with the same name. The book has references and themes from Alice in Wonderland mixed into a new and original story. I know a lot of people have been misled by the idea of it being about Alice fighting zombies who have overtaken Wonderland, but this book is quite different from expectation and instead this Alice deals with loss, high school, popularity, zombies, and boys. No Madhatters to be seen.

Quirky, Easy Read

Showalter’s quirky writing style is perfect for teens who enjoy high school drama, witty queen B’s, and hunky zombie-fighting bad boys! I felt like the writing was a little too young for me, however had I been a few years younger, I would have loved this book and probably given it 5 stars.

Favourite Quote

“I had faith, if I had faith I couldn’t have worry.”

Rating: 4 Stars

Leave a Reply

