Review | Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Jay Asher impressed me with this one. I liked his writing style in The Future of Us but felt let down because of potential with certain story lines that were dropped with no resolution, however in Thirteen Reasons Why I felt like the book was put together so much better. There is a clear structure which increased the enjoyment factor incredibly as it was well-crafted and thought-provoking.

The story is creative, and the dual-narrative a brilliant way to portray the thoughts of a dead girl, and the thoughts of a guy hearing her story and the thirteen reasons why she committed suicide.I wasn’t emotionally connected with Hannah, or any of the characters apart from Clay, but I think that increased my understanding, because none of them really knew Hannah either. Every character had their own lives that briefly touched Hannah’s life, but affected her more than they would ever know.

Character Connection

I wasn’t emotionally connected with Hannah, or any of the characters apart from Clay, but I think that increased my understanding, because none of them really knew Hannah either. Every character had their own lives that briefly touched Hannah’s life, but affected her more than they would ever know.

Pretentious and Cruel

Before I read the book I thought it was a fantastic idea however while reading and after, in retrospect, I did struggle with the premise as I found the character of Hannah and her leaving behind suicide tapes to people who barely knew her to be quite selfish and rude for the most part. It was a unique idea but I don’t think it was fair the protagonist Clay who had had a crush on her before she died and is lead to believe he was a reason why – it was quite distressing to read.

Moral of the Story

Thirteen Reasons Why definitely has a moral-of-the-story feel to it. I believe it to be that we should treat others well because we don’t realise how much we affect other people’s lives.

Rating: 3.5 Stars

 

Leave a Reply

